For You

Standard

Today was sort of mellow.  Tomorrow morning I am babysitting my neices.  Luckily I’ll have an open afternoon.  Then I will be meeting up with the family I used to nanny for in Fairfax.  I will see Jenna, Justin and Krista, all who have probably grown inches and feet and hair and intellect.  I saw them about a year ago..it’ll be good to see them again. 

I think I’m going to read through Philippians and write a little about what I’m reading in each of my blogs for a while.   I just need to focus really well right now, and Paul’s letter to the Philippians seemed an appropriate start. 

So I read the first chapter tonight.  It’s one of my favorite chapters in the Bible, actually.  My junior year of college, my voice teacher, Dr. Terry Fern, found this 20th century piece of music which beautifully melodicized some of the words of that first chapter.  I think I loved the song so well because it is a very loving, passionate prayer for friends. 

“I thank my God upon every remembrance of you.  Always in every prayer of mine making request for you all with joy…that he who began a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ… I have you in my heart….And this I pray, that your love may abound still more and more in knowledge and all discernent, that you may approve the things that are excellent, that you may be sincere and without offense till the day of Christ, being filled with the fruits of righteousness which are by Jesus Christ, to the glory and praise of God.”

Friends and family, I pray that God will surround you with provision and encouragment.  I am blessed to have you in my life; I do not deserve your kindness.  Your support feeds my heart.  May you feel the warmth of God’s smile for you everyday.

Leave a Reply

