One Accord

Standard

My friend Monty has a band and they have been discussing band name possibilities.  One of them was One Accord.  I don’t think they will choose this, but when I opened my Bible just now to read my Philippians passage for the day, that phrase was the theme. 

And I just find it so fitting to what is mulling inside my head. 

“Therefore if there is any consolation in Christ, if any comfort of love, if any fellowship of the Spirit, if any affection and mercy…

fulfill my joy in being like-minded, having thesame love, being of one accord, of one mind.”

When I think of Paul, I think of how empassioned he was for God’s creation.  He desperately wanted them to grasp salvation and dearly longed for them to embrace and edify one another.  My father said to me last night, “Andria, you cannot save the world.”  When I think of Paul, I think he was one who desired to give it a go.  He knew he couldn’t be salvation for the people, but in preparing them and teaching them and praying for them…I think he was a part of that process.

And that’s what I want to be.  I want to leave a mark in the congregations I attend….not so that I will be glorified, but that Christ will be glorified.  My heart longs for us to be unified….goal-oriented….focused on embracing our new beginning and helping others embrace it as well.  Maybe I can’t save the world.  Maybe I can’t save a congregation.  Maybe I can’t save an individual.  But I can point them to Who can save. 

I know that words go in and out easily.  They are a cheap commodity these days….we have so much “freedom.”  I think we take it for granted.  I think the masses have lost the impact of a simple compliment or one hurtful joke. 

I read on in Philippians:  “Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself.  Let each of you look out not only for his own interests, but also for the interests of others.”

Readers, what would God have each of you do to make a positive mark on His creation?  What is the first step in shifting an entire organization’s mindset?  What can you do to start a healthy, God-inspired domino effect?

One thought on “One Accord

Leave a Reply

