Another song

Standard

So I have written another song.  You probably read the lyrics to it a few blogs back. 

I typically like deep lyrics….the kind that make you think.  Or the kind that people can relate to one way or another.  I go through these phases where I will become addicted to a song and just put it on repeat because I’m “in that mood.”  This week it’s a song by Sara Bareilles, one of my new favs.  It’s the last song on her recent album “Little Voice”….and it makes me think of something.  Will  I ever outgrow this?  Eh, I doubt it. 

I’ve started a project with Joe on flickr where we post self-portraits every day for an entire year and send them to a group where everyone does the same thing.  I wonder how much I will have changed in a year.  Hmm.  Planning on growing my hair out long again.  Planning on keeping it dark.  I wonder if I will be in a different place, though.  I wonder if I will radiate anything different…perhaps that underlying sadness will remain or maybe there will be victory beaming.  I hope for the latter. 

I have this thing where I “feel” other people’s pain and joy. Like heartache pain.  It’s like this stabbing jab in the chest and I’ll suddenly be overwhelmed emotionally.  Even if no one tells me anything.  I’m sure most people think this is odd, and there are some in my life who think I’m “taking on other people’s problems.”  Hmm.  I don’t really look at this “gift” as a negative.  It’s sorta like insight, and I have always appreciated it.  I guess because I become emotional and care so deeply, it worries people.  It’s “odd.”  But one thing is for sure:  I want some of the pains to go away because I know why some of the people in my life are hurting.  And I want their pain to go away. 

I got a phone call today from one such friend.  And I burst out into tears of joy because it was one of those “yay God is awesome even though life is hard” calls.  I love it.  I love how God woos his creation. 

So perhaps Sara‘s Gravity song was meant to be about a person. But it reminds me of this “thing” in me.  Take it how you will.  I love the song. 

“Something always brings me back to you.  It never takes too long.  No matter what I say or do I’ll feel you here til the moment I’m gone.  You hold me without touch.  You keep me without chains.  I never wanted anything so much than to drown in your love and not feel your pain. 

Set me free, leave me be.  I don’t want to fall another moment into your gravity.  Here I am and I stand so tall, just the way I’m supposed to be.  But you’re on to me and all over me.

You loved me ’cause I’m fragile when I thought that I was strong.  But you touch me for a little while and all my fragile strength is gone.  I live here on my knees as I try to make you see that you’re everything I think I need here on the ground.  But you’re neither friend nor foe, though I can’t seem to let you go.   The one thing I know is that you’re keeping me down.

Something always brings me back to you.  It never takes too long.” –Sara Bareilles.

Leave a Reply

