Undecided

Standard

I enjoy talking politics.  I do.  I like to learn about people’s perspectives and assess our government’s choices.  I am not always as informed as I should be, and I don’t mind admitting that.  Probably, that is because in the past some of my information has come from those around me.  Some of it is trustworthy, and some of it is fueled mostly by passionate morals/stands. 

 As this election season has progressed, I’ve made it a priority to become better informed.  I am constantly checking factcheck.org and reading the headlines to assess the info invading my brain.  I know where I stand on some issues.  There are some that I still don’t know which side to support.  It’s a lot more involved than I’m sure it seems on the surface.  Take something from one place to transfer to another.  Pull the plug on another important thing so that this other important thing can take place.  Much of it seems priorital.  But I’m sure there is also a great that is “all about selfish political gain”.  This breaks my heart, but seemingly unavoidable.

So at this point, I am undecided who will get my stamp on election day.  I see both sides on many issues.  And I still have so many unanswered questions.  So as I pray for this decision, I trust that God will use whatever occurs to further His kingdom.  He is such a wise and mighty ruler, and none of this is happening outside His realm. 

What issues are important to you in this election?  What issues will possibly determine your vote?

2 thoughts on “Undecided

  1. Jordan

    I will join you on the undecided train. For every one good thing from each side, there is one more bad or questionable thing that holds my chads unpunched as of yet. Can’t I just dangle both of the chads for both candidates or just write Tracey Jessup in for President? My prayer is that no matter who gets into office, my politic will remain unchanged because they stand unmoveable. My politic is the love of God.

  2. Yeah, I’m with you, Jordan. I just finished reading this entire article: http://www.factcheck.org/elections-2008/factchecking_debate_no_3.html and find again that I am not decided. I have much prayer ahead on this.

    Here are my deciding factors:

    1. I need to decide on the persons I believe will be best OVERALL for our country. I cannot decide selfishly. I need to put our country’s future ahead of my own.

    2. I need to decide on the persons I believe will act on the things they has TRULY planned. Just because they promise it, doesn’t mean he will accomplish it.

    3. With that in mind, what is REASONABLY possible? I need to decide on the persons that can perhaps enable these things to be accomplished. Just b/c they try does not mean it will work. I need to take into consideration who is in congress, who is in the senate, and what obstacles we will all face in the next term.

    I do not take this decision lightly. I have in the past. I have voted based on my emotions and my morals. This doesn’t mean I made a bad choice, but I didn’t think it through very well. I didn’t get enough information. That stops with this election.

Leave a Reply

