Getting Married!!

Standard

I know it’s been a long time since I have posted, but I have a very good reason.   The last few months of my life have been very full.  I have a new job, that I am so thankful for.  I love it.  And most important, I am getting married. 

Yep, that’s right! 

On November 7, 2009 I will become Mrs. James Vernon.  And I am blessed beyond measure.  James and I met through an event I organize called the Union Cross Cafe.  Last fall I called his mom to get his phone number (her brother goes to my church) so I could book his band, Caricature, to play at Christmas.  Little did I know that a year later we’d be getting married. 

It was uncanny how much we had in common.  How much in-line our attitudes about life and God and people were.  We were in the same places in life, unemployed and waiting for God to provide a life-mate as well as a job.  We spent hours talking late on facebook about everything.  After about a month of hanging out about every day, we had our official “first date.”   Good thing IHOP is open all night.  We sat there for about 4 hours talking.  Almost without any beats.

And after counsel and prayers from our families, mentors and friends, it seems unanimous that God has provided us for each other.  We are so excited about starting our lives together.

A decision that we made early on in our dating relationship was regarding where we would attend church.  You see, we both have been highly involved in ministries at each of our churches.  He has gone to New Hope Baptist all of his life, and a good bulk of my life has been spent at Christ Wesleyan Church.  James prayed about it, and I prayed about it.  I had felt God preparing for the last year that I would need to move on from CWC, though.  And James believes that New Hope is the church where we need to be unless God moves us elsewhere.  So I have very recently joined New Hope Baptist, and we will share ministries there. 

I’m very excited! Leaving CWC is a bit melancholy because I will  VERY much miss all of the CWC family.  I have grown so much in my walk with God at CWC.  The opportunities I have had there have been tremendous.  I’ve made amazing friends and have extended family there.  My CWC family will always be in my life..in my heart.  You all have been such a blessing.   But God always provides, and I know that there is a special place for me at New Hope with James.  Already there are opportunities there, and I have made some friends.  It’s going to be a great journey.

I will appreciate prayers for James and I as we prepare for our wedding and our life together.

Leave a Reply

