A Piece of Me

Standard

I live in a society where expectations are out of control.  Everyone wants a piece of me.  Whether it is  my time, my money, my attention, my support, my allegiance, or my work, I am being pulled apart at the seams from the inside out.  Ever felt like that?   Doesn’t it just make you want to scream?   Or if you are like me, you end up sporadically breaking into tears for a few weeks until the tiniest pull crumbles you to pieces. The words echo in your head “You are a failure.  You are not good enough.  You can’t do it anymore.”

What a terrible string of words to follow you through your day, because you still have to do the laundry, get the groceries, work your job for a bulk of the day, call the hospital about your bill, prepare a Sunday School lesson, wash the dishes, practice with the band, be in church service and get dinner.  It just never ends.  The necessary tasks continue and life does not stop.  However, when I feel like a failure, my instinct is to give up.  I want everything to stop so that I can breathe.  I want to distance myself from everything and everyone. I don’t want to make things worse than they already are.

Sometimes your environment does not help.  Sadly, people can make this situation worse by belittling you, gossiping about you, and telling you outright that you are not doing enough or that you are not doing it right.  Sometimes we are our own worst enemy, but sometimes the people around us can be equally offensive. Aren’t we vicious sometimes?   Our actions and words are powerful.  We have so many opportunities to love and to encourage, and yet sometimes we just choose to be blunt or cruel.  As Christians, don’t we know better?   Shame on us for gossiping.  Shame on us for tearing others down.  Shame on us for expecting more from ourselves and from each other than what God expects from us!

God is still teaching me that when I feel like I am a failure, I need to trust in Him. We miss the mark; we are fallible.  But God is not! How often in His Word does it say that God is faithful?  Seriously, it seems like every book of the Bible is screaming out to us that every human is messy and erroneous, but…..GOD IS FAITHFUL.   When we fall, He picks us up.  When we are lonely, He walks with us. When we are sad, He comforts us. When we are broken, He mends us.  When we are tired, He carries us.  When we don’t have anything, He provides.  When we just can’t do it anymore, He makes a way.  God is faithful!  We have heard again and again, His timing is not ours and we may not understand his ways.  However, the Word of God is clear: He is faithful to complete His tasks. No, I can’t do it all.  No, I am not perfect.  No, I cannot control other people’s words or actions.  But God is bigger than all of this, and will be by my side or carrying me if that is what I need.

Psalm 33:4
4 For the word of the LORD is right and true; he is faithful in all he does.

Psalm 36:5
5 Your love, O LORD, reaches to the heavens, your faithfulness to the skies.

Psalm 86:15
15 But you, O Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.

Psalm 89:1
1 I will sing of the LORD’s great love forever; with my mouth I will make your faithfulness known through all generations.

Psalm 89:8
8 O LORD God Almighty, who is like you? You are mighty, O LORD, and your faithfulness surrounds you.

Psalm 91:3-6
3 Surely he will save you from the fowler’s snare and from the deadly pestilence. 4 He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart. 5 You will not fear the terror of night, nor the arrow that flies by day, 6 nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness, nor the plague that destroys at midday.

Psalm 92:1-3
1 It is good to praise the LORD and make music to your name, O Most High, 2 to proclaim your love in the morning and your faithfulness at night, 3 to the music of the ten-stringed lyre and the melody of the harp.

Psalm 108:4
4 For great is your love, higher than the heavens; your faithfulness reaches to the skies.

Psalm 115:1
1 Not to us, O LORD, not to us but to your name be the glory, because of your love and faithfulness.

Psalm 143:1
1 O LORD, hear my prayer, listen to my cry for mercy; in your faithfulness and righteousness come to my relief

Lamentations 3:22-23
22 Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. 23 They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

Romans 3:3-4
3 What if some did not have faith? Will their lack of faith nullify God’s faithfulness? 4 Not at all!

1 Corinthians 1:9
9 God, who has called you into fellowship with his Son Jesus Christ our Lord, is faithful.

1 Corinthians 10:13
13 No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.

1 John 1:9
9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

Into Your Arms

Leave a Reply

