How We Commune

Standard

Community looks a lot different than it did a year ago. Even than it did 20 years ago. It is not that the base make-up of a community has changed. I think what we consider to be our community has changed. How we connect with one another, how we establish and maintain friendships/relationships, and how we support one another.

In my last blog post, I was working through a massive amount of thoughts on the church. My brain has not stopped pondering these things, so out-pours hopefully a better and more concise blog.

Some of my closest friends live tens to hundreds of miles away. My phone has unlimited minutes, technology where now I can video call pretty much anyone. Groceries and other necessities can be delivered to me. Hot and ready meals of expanding choices delivered within 30 minutes. I don’t have to come in contact with anyone if I do not want to in order to survive. I am living a hermit’s dream. Ha! It is definitely a blessing during this Covid-19 nightmare.

I connect with people through technology. Though some church congregations have starting gathering again, many continue to share services online. It is such a wonderful blessing that we can hear the Word of God this way and also listen to songs sung to God on our various devices. This is for sure something I am extremely grateful to experience and have easy access to. I could connect and establish community with a congregation hundreds of miles away if I so desired.

However, the miles sometimes makes it difficult to get truly close. The people who spend time with me the most see my mistakes more vividly. They experience my heartache, joy and struggles in a way that do not translate very realistically through phone/video calls, texts, or social media posts. Even now I am trying to communicate some things very heavy on my heart, but I just flounder to find the right words. We need community. We can establish the skeleton frames of it through technology and a few visits, but it doesn’t really build a solid foundation.

I keep considering the way our churches function in this current climate. I am sure there are many leaders praying and seeking wisdom for how to proceed. It is a crossroads, I think. We are at a point in time where the direction we head as the church can truly tear us down or build a strong foundation for Kingdom growth. Tugging at my heart continues to be the words “prayer” and “connection”.

How we connect matters. That we make an effort to connect matters. I fail miserably. I do not check in on people enough. I don’t pray specifically enough. I realize that beating myself up about this serves no good purpose, but I just want to acknowledge it and be better about it. It is easy to have the expectation for others to check in. “Well, I am not going to call, it is their turn.” “They are the parent, so they should do the calling.” “They are a leader, it is their responsibility to check on me.” “If they cared about me, they would call.” Have you ever thought those things? Maybe you did and brushed it off or had a change of heart.

The truth is, we are supposed to care for each other. We all have equal responsibilities to connect, care, and pray. There are going to be times in our lives where we are just too exhausted, too drained, or too stressed so it gets put on that back burner. Sometimes we really DO need to allow others to care for us. Sometimes we need to reach out so that others know we need it, though. I have learned the hard way…people canNOT read your minds. Sometimes there is just so much going on in the peoples’ lives that you are close with and they do not see or anticipate your needs. Please, if you need to talk, REACH OUT. I know it can be scary sometimes. I know you may think that someone might not care or might run away if you are honest, but don’t hesitate. Don’t wait until you don’t care anymore. That is a dangerous place. Let someone know you need to talk. That you need prayer.

No matter how community has changed throughout the ages, it has always had such great importance. And church community has Kingdom importance. We should not be establishing a church community to grow in gathering numbers. We should establish a church community to grow in the knowledge, faith and love of God through prayer, discipleship and worship. Yes, we want to share the gospel with everyone that we can. This is supremely important individually and collectively. However, we should not neglect the community while trying to share the good news of Christ. It just creates a flimsy and wayward foundation for all those that are in the community, new and old. We need to be able to withstand the winds of change and the waves of adversity. We need to be able to support one another during difficulty.

So my question right now is how do we establish a strong foundation of church community in this political, social and health crisis climate? My heart keeps saying prayer. Intentional, specific, fervent prayer alongside Bible study in small groups that can commit to safely gathering. Who is with me?

Leave a comment